Tech

Tinder Gives Members More Control With Block Contacts Feature

Whether it’s a former flame, a cousin, or a colleague, just about everyone has a personal connection they’d rather not run into when dipping their toe in the dating pool. In fact, a recent survey commissioned by Tinder found that more than 40% of respondents have come across an ex-partner on a dating app. Another 24% have seen a family member or colleague, and one in ten have even encountered their professor’s profile. Awkward. Given the chance, 78% of those surveyed would prefer to not see, or be seen by, these connections on an app. With this in mind, Tinder is rolling out a new feature that allows members to block personal contacts in the app, empowering them to confidently Like their way to sparking new connections while avoiding the awkwardness of a familiar face they would rather not see. 

The new Block Contacts feature, which gives members more control over their experience, is launching just in time to help consumers navigate this year’s wave of springtime uncouplings. Known as “Uncuffing Season,” the annual onset of warmer weather compels hibernating couples to cut ties just in time to enjoy an unattached summer season. The notion of uncuffing isn’t a new phenomenon either, 63% of survey respondents agree summertime is the best time to be single. However, the prospect of a somewhat normal post-pandemic summer has inspired 2021’s “Great Uncuffing.” So much so that the same study found that more than 40% of those surveyed would consider breaking things off with a partner ahead of summertime, and over half of its Gen Z respondents had already bid farewell to their pandemic partners this year.  

Members everywhere will be able to access Block Contacts within their profile settings. From there, they can input which of their contacts they’d rather not see, or not be seen by, on Tinder. Whether those contacts are already on Tinder or decide to download it later using the same contact info, they won’t appear as a potential match. Initially tested in India, Korea and Japan, members who adopted the Block Contacts feature on Tinder added about a dozen contacts to their block list.

HOW IT WORKS 

Block Contacts is a simple, settings-like feature. There are two ways to use it:  

Option 1: Upload your contact list 

Share the contact list from your device to Tinder, and pick the contacts you want to block: 

  1. Open Tinder and tap the profile icon 
  2. Go to “Settings”
  3. Scroll down and select “Block Contacts” 
  4. Grant Tinder permission to access your contacts 
  5. Under the “Contacts” tab, select people you want to avoid from your contact list 
  6. Tap “Block Contacts”

Option 2: Manually add a contact

If you’d rather not upload all your contacts to Tinder, or if you want to block someone who isn’t saved in your contact list, you can manually add their contact info: 

  1. Follow steps 1 – 3 above
  2. Then, tap the + icon at the top of the screen
  3. Input this person’s contact info and tap “Done”

Blocked contacts won’t be notified you blocked them, and blocking contacts doesn’t affect your existing matches or messages.

Show More

Rajat Negi

Rajat Negi is the founder of Gizmo Tech and is an active blogger and social media influencer. Rajat has contributed to several articles for various publishers. He also works as a social media influencer for various popular brands. Rajat can be reached at [email protected]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Articles

Back to top button