WhatsApp the popular instant messaging app on Android, iOS and Windows Phone OS, has constantly being updated with new features. Recently, the company added many features in its beta version of the app. Now, the feature has been rolling out to stable version of the Android app.
WhatsApp has rolled out a massive new update that affects the way its Delete For Everyone feature works.The new update will allow users to delete messages they publish to the app hours after they first get sent. The Facebook-owned messaging app first added the ability to delete sent messages from an individual conversation or group chat back in November 2017.
The newest update that’s been rolled out to WhatsApp upgrades the amount of time you’re allowed to delete messages in. Users can now delete a message one hour eight minutes and sixteen seconds after it was sent – a significant upgrade from the previous seven minutes you were allowed to delete the message before.
After that deadline, WhatsApp users are only able to delete the message from their own smartphone, which has no effect on your friends’ or contacts’ chats. This means that even if you delete the messages after this deadline, others will still be able to see the messages.
“WhatsApp highlights in its FAQ that you can only delete messages after they have been sent – as long as both the sender and the recipient are using the latest version of the app. Curiously, it makes no mention how the feature works in cases of quotes.”
Now a new group description feature will allow you to add a description or a topic to a group. This will tell the group members about what the group is about. One can add a group description up to 512 characters which can be seen by clicking the group info which is found below the group icon and group name. And same thing will also be available on the chat screen in a box, which will take you to the description on one tap.
In the new update the group members will be able to search for the members with their names. This feature will help in looking for a member with the help of a search bar on the group info screen without scrolling the list of all the members. This feature is already rolled out on iOS earlier this month.
Now just one tap can switch you from WhatsApp voice call to video call. Now it will show an option to switch from voice call to video call and vice versa when you are already on a call. This feature of WhatsApp was initially spotted on beta version for Android in January and it is already rolled out in iOS in February this year.
If you have any question or query then do comment.